Closing the Gap

Hello everyone, I hope the weekend was great for everyone! Now back to the daily grind sadly.

It recently dawned on me that with our upcoming anniversary, Jack and I have been long distance for nearly three years. That is three-fourths of our relationship. That’s insane to think about! Even though long distance can be tough to me it honestly feels like it’s been a year apart. Just goes to show even though it’s tough and can take a lot o work, with the right person it might just be meant for you.

I then got to thinking about the future and when the long distance portion of our relationship will end. I’m a big planner, I like to know everything about the future. I want everything planned out for me so I know what to expect and when. I then started feeling like I need an answer on when Jack and I would ‘close the gap”. For those of you that don’t know, closing the gap is long distance relationship term and means exactly what it says. You are closing the distance between the two of you and are in the same place.

Once I began thinking about when it was going to happen for us I realized I had not given it much thought because it was not going to be happening any time soon. We both need to graduate undergrad at least and we both have a minimum of a year and a half left. But after I read some articles concerning the topic I realized that a year and a half can be here before we know it and while it may seem like a while away it does take a lot of time and planning if one of us, or both of us, will be moving somewhere else. We have to plan living, jobs, and expenses.

Jack and I discussed it a little about what we both would like to do and some possible options. For us a lot of it is dependent on different factors and possible situations that can occur.


Have any of you closed the gap yourselves or talked about/are planning it with your significant other? I would love to hear how you did it or plans you have made. Comment below and let me know.

Have a wonderful Monday Funday!

Also I am looking to feature people’s stories of their long distance relationship. Whether you are currently in one or were in one previously, I would love to share your story. Please email me at renae_bruce@yahoo.com if you are interested. 

Renae

Leave a Reply

